Third Wheel

Posted: June 28, 2012 in otiose

I am perpetually the third wheel
which is odd
because I don’t socialize or do anything in groups.

I should not find myself in this awkward and superfluous position so often.

My living situation, however, almost always renders me the third wheel
and this has been the case since I made the financial decision
that I cannot afford to live on my own.

At any rate, I feel like I’m a child in the middle of a divorce right now
(and this is not the first time I’ve been in this position even though my original parents are still comfortably, if not always happily, married)
as I sit in an off the books civil union that’s entering into the fisticuffs stage
of an illegitimate custody battle over large screen televisions and kitty cats.

No joke.

While they brood and brawl and occasionally embark upon a verbal assault through me
I’m left to watch over the well-being of the kitty cats
fend for myself in relocating
and don’t give a flying fuck about the TV.

In short, I’m moving.
Moving two miles from my original relocation
on extremely short notice
once again
and I’m sick of moving.

I’m sick of seeing relationships crumble from the inside out.

I am not in a serious relationship, because I am not in the mood to put forth the effort
or emotional investment needed to make such a thing function.
I’m also still disgustingly ensnared in a tussle with unrequited love

Or delusions of such a thing.

Regardless, I definitely do not want to experience the drama that goes with a serious relationship that is not even mine, even if I’ve made a cameo appearance.

Sorry, kitties.
At least, in the end, someone will take you along and continue to love you.

I’m going back to a doggy household.

Comments are closed.