One day later.

Posted: January 17, 2012 in otiose

I was awake until about four in the morning tinkering with perpetually unimportant things.
Managing to get my headache to go away, I felt rather successful.
Then I went to sleep.
I woke up sick, threw up, and went to work anyway.
This shit happens. Generally, if I ignore it, it improves as the day gets worse.

Not yesterday.

Less than an hour into my shift, I had to call in a replacement.
Thankfully, we’re currently in the position wherein a replacement is available
for the first time in at least six months.
This was my first sick day in over two years, and here’s why:

I was not coherent enough to do anything but tussle with my blankets, stagger to the bathroom and sip water for an entire day.
I went home where my temperature started at 96 and progressed to 102 at around three this morning.
I lost 11 pounds.

That’s over a gallon of water.

Today, my headache is back. I’ll assume it’s from dehydration. My temperature is happily back down to 97. (I don’t run at the average 98.6 very often.)

Lucky me.
Back to work in an hour.

Comments are closed.