Reminiscing

Posted: July 11, 2011 in otiose
Tags: ,

I remember the good ol’ days when I could comfortably do my laundry naked at three in the morning without anyone bothering me. Now, I can’t even go to and from the bathroom without covering up, and the laundry has become a fucking all day ordeal that I put off for months at a time.

Back in the good ol’ days I didn’t have to live with people that leave hamburger on the stove to fester all night and then put it in the fridge as if nothing could go wrong. The crisper drawers were not filled with microbrews. My milk did not mysteriously disappear during the day, and I could buy more when I knew it was gone. Old School movie posters did not decorate the walls next to trite black and whites, and sports didn’t play out on a big, ugly TV all day every day. My IP address didn’t get randomly reassigned behind a proxy server, and no one dirtied my fucking dishes and then put them in the fridge under that hamburger for what I can only assume is going to be months.

Months without my cooking utensils.

How I pine for you, autonomy.

Back in the good ol’ days, I thought I wanted to share my life with somebody. Fuck, was I ever stupid. Now, all I want is to be left alone…but it appears I’ve made too many wrong turns from the good ol’ days of solitude into this muck of responsibility and obligation to entertain good ol’ boys as they reminisce about the good ol’ days.

Comments are closed.